10 unusual facts about IPL that will fascinate you!!!

The IPL carnival of 47 days has started showing its magic with cricket fans going crazy all over India. Every season, some remarkable records (and some not so remarkable) are made by the players. Adding to the fever of this craziest game, here we are presenting you some of the amazing facts about the Indian Premier League tournament.

Yusuf Pathan and Rohit Sharma are the only players who have won the tournament thrice

Yusuf Pathan and current Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma share a rare feat which is unmatched by others. They have won the IPL thrice with two different franchises


Chris Gayle remained unsold in the 2011 auction

You will be surprised to know that IPL’s most destructive batsman Chris Gayle remained unsold in the IPL auction in 2011.  Gayle played for Kolkata Knight Riders in the first three seasons of the IPL and played 16 matches for them.


Chennai Super Kings had reached the playoffs of every IPL they have played

Chennai Super Kings had reached the playoffs of every IPL they have played having won it twice and coming second on three occasions. They have played in five out of the seven finals so far.


Chris Gayle’s unbeaten 175 is the highest in any form of T20 cricket.

Chris Gayle’s unbeaten 175 in just 66 balls against the Pune Warriors is not just the highest score in the IPL but also the highest in any form of T20 cricket. It included 17 sixes – another IPL record. He also has the most no. of centuries in the IPL.


The curse of the Delhi Daredevils

The Delhi franchise is the only team who has never played the IPL final. Though Deccan and Sunrisers are two different teams but since they represent the same city i.e. Hyderabad, so it is only Delhi who has never played the coveted IPL final. Also, they have another dubious record of scoring the most number of below-100 scores in the IPL.


Colorful Parthiv Patel

Parthiv Patel is the only player who has played in the IPL, each season with a different team. 9 IPL seasons and 6 different teams for Parthiv Patel.


Unlucky Ashok Dinda!

Dinda has played for 4 different teams but unfortunately each and every single time, his team ended up in the bottom four.


Captain cool!

Indian cricket team’s captain cool, Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the only person who has been captain in most of Indian Premier League seasons. He is also the only player who has played most matches as captain (114).


Most Fifties and Most Ducks

Former Indian batsman Gautam Gambhir has been one of the best performers in the IPL. He has amassed plenty of runs for both the teams he played for in the IPL. He is KKR’s highest run getter and sits pretty at the 4th spot for in the Delhi Daredevils’ highest run-getters’ list. Gambhir also has scored the most number of 50s in IPL. But there is a record that he would love to forget. Gautam Gambhir has scored the most number of ducks i.e. 11


The high and low for the Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR still holds the record of a win by the most number of runs in the tournament. KKR defeated RCB by 140 runs in the opening match of the inaugural season of the IPL.  However, they have another record which they would like to forget. KKR holds the dubious feat of being defeated with the most number of balls remaining in the second innings. It too happened in the 2008 edition when they were thrashed by Mumbai Indians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top